2008 150th Anniversary of Kingitanga / Maori King Movement

 «previous next»

2008 150th Anniversary of Kingitanga / Maori King Movement
Cat. Mint Unhinged Fine Used
50c "Te miro whero, te miro ma, te miro pango" / The spirit of unity among Maori 651a $0.90
$1.50 "he piko he taniwha, he piko he taniwha" / At every bend of the Waikato a Chief 651b $2.70
$2.50 "I muri au kia mau ..." / Hold fast to faith, hold fast to love, hold fast to the law 651c $4.50
Set of 3 651d $7.70
First Day Cover - 2 May 2008 651e $8.50
… Three Stamps : 50c (651a), $1.50 (651b), $2.50 (651c)
The Maori King Movement or Kingitanga is a movement that arose among some Maori tribes in the 1850s to establish a symbolic role similar in status to that of the monarch of the British colonists.

The position of Maori monarch is a non-constitutional role with no legal power but it is a symbolic role of great prestige (mana). Since the 1850s the role has been vested in the Tainui iwi (tribe) who agreed to guard the position when it was created. The current Maori monarch, Tuheitia Paki, is descended from the first Maori king, Patatau Te Wherowhero, and was elected in 2006.

Since it was established, the Kingitanga movement and influence have expanded and are recognised and respected by Maori in many parts of New Zealand today.

The position of Maori monarch is not hereditary in principle. The monarch is appointed by the leaders of the tribes involved in the Kingitanga movement on the day of the previous monarch's funeral and before the burial. However, to date all Maori monarchs have been direct descendants of Patatau Te Wherowhero, the first Maori king, and each monarch has been succeeded by a son or daughter.

Patatau, Maori King (1856 - 1860)Tawhiao, Maori King (1860 - 1894)Mahuta, Maori King (1894 - 1912)Te Rata, Maori King (1912 - 1933)Koroki, Maori King (1933 - 1966)Dame Te Atairangikaahu, Maori Queen (1966 - 2006)Tuheitia Paki, Maori King (2006 - )

The three stamps in the set each reference a well known proverb that Patatau Te Wherowhero is identified with.

The Postage Stamps of New Zealand Volume X
Edited by B.G. Vincent FRPSNZ
Published 2013 by The Royal Philatelic Society of New Zealand Incorporated (ISBN 978-0-9876534-3-7)
Pages 172 - 173
If you have any questions or comments please contact us - we'd love to hear from you.

Catalogue · 2007 · 2008 · 2009 · Commemoratives · Aotearoa
Order Form · Currency Converter · Privacy Policy
What to Expect · Contact Us · Links

This page was last updated on 18 Jul 2024
All content and images copyright © 2008 - 2024 StampsNZ